ظلم – بلدي متلازمة ذيل الفرس قصة القانونية

Malpractice - 165/365 Because فمن النادر, بعض الذين يصابون متلازمة ذيل الخيول هم ضحايا سوء الممارسة الطبية. روايات كثيرة, جنبا إلى جنب مع بعض منها موثقة, من CES تقديمهم على أو سوءا بسبب سوء الممارسة. Given the laws covering malpractice in varying jurisdictions and the variability of each person's CES, لا أحد يمكن أن يكون معينة إذا قضية وجود أو كيف سوف تتحول. هذه هي قصتي. وقد استعرضت من قبل 2 أوهايو المحامين الذين لديهم خبرة في حالات سوء الممارسة متلازمة ذيل الفرس. You won't like what it says about our legislatures, النظام القانوني, وبالطبع الطبيب التعليم.

بدأت حياتي متلازمة ذيل الفرس مع إصابتي. ضمن 10 ساعة من بداية ظهور الأعراض CES بلدي, كنت في غرفة الطوارئ في سترفيل, OH. عند الاستيقاظ في الصباح من فبراير 12, 2013, وجدت أنني لم فقط شديدة في الظهر وألم عرق النسا من الليل قبل, ولكن الآن كنت خدر من الخصر إلى أسفل! لم أتمكن من إفراغ المثانة بلدي ولا التبرز. لم أستطع تحريك قدمي حتى هؤلاء 3ولا أسفل ودون شعور في بلدي القدمين والكاحلين, لم أتمكن من تحقيق التوازن. هذه كلها أعراض كلاسيكية من متلازمة ذيل الفرس. لحسن الحظ كان لدينا على كرسي متحرك (وبعض حفاضات للكبار) وبعد 10 صباحا, وصلت إلى ER في بلدي كرسي متحرك.

وقد قيل لنا أن هذا ER كانت سريعة وفعالة, وكان على مقربة من مكتب الطبيب الذي يشتبه متلازمة ذيل الفرس وأرسلت لنا إلى ER (مع توجيهات محددة لوالتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي القيام به.) فور وصوله إلى ER, كنت بعجلات إلى غرفة الامتحان، وانتقلت من وجهة نظري على كرسي متحرك إلى طاولة الامتحان. أخذت بلدي الحيويه وجاء ممرض تعيين لي في التقييم الأولي لل. He stood about 5' 4", حول 150 جنيه, لطيفة. الفرد الذي بدأ يسأل عن الأعراض بلدي. مع بلدي بالذكر متلازمة ذيل الفرس, سأل إذا كنت منفلت. قلت, "ليس. I can't go!" ثم طلب مني الوقوف. I told him I couldn't. كنت أعرف أنني لن تقع على حق, not because my legs wouldn't support me but because I had no balance. وكنت أعرف أن له إطار صغير سوف نغرق في بلدي 6 قدم طويل القامة, 325 هيئة جنيه. No way he can stop me from falling over if he doesn't prevent it to start with. قلت له ذلك, لكنه أصر. كانت النتائج التي يمكن التنبؤ بها. على الوقوف, وعلى الفور بدأت تميل (بعيدا عنه, بالطبع) وذهبت أكثر من. يمكن للممرضة لم يعد إيقافه. كان كرسي المتداول أمام مكتب ثابتة تماشيا مع حركة بلدي. وكنت قادرا على الاستيلاء على ظهر الكرسي، وكما دخلت مكتب, انها تخوض في وكنت قادرة على وقف سقوط بلدي. سألني مرة أخرى إذا كنت منفلت. فأجبت كما كان قبل. خلصت الامتحان الأولي.

وبعد فترة قصيرة جاءت الممرضة مرة أخرى في. قال لي ان الطبيب ER أمرت التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي بالنسبة لي. ويقع آلة التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي في الطرف الآخر من هذا الحرم الجامعي أوهايو الطبية والصحة لم يكن لديها فرصة بالنسبة لي لتقريبا 4 ساعات. واضطررت الى الانتظار, على هذا الجدول الامتحان, في الألم, حتى ذلك الحين. الممرضة لم تحقق لي بضع مرات, كان مرة واحدة تجلب لي بضع حفاضات استبدال كما بلدي المثانة الكامل لذلك تم تسريب (I still couldn't go!) الحمد لله, زوجتي بعض الوجبات الخفيفة في حقيبتها أو كنت قد تم من دون طعام لأكثر من 10 ساعات ذلك اليوم - ليست جيدة لمريض السكر! لا أحد يطلب من أي وقت مضى إذا كنت جائعا, على الرغم من أنني كان هناك أكثر من وقت الغداء. حول 2:15 مساءا. جاءت الممرضة وأخذني إلى آلة التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي. ونحن بعجلات في, كنت أرى أن الجهاز كان نوع القديمة التي كانت صغيرة جدا. لم أكن أعتقد أنني سوف تناسب. قالوا لي ان اختبار آخر حول 45 دقيقة وبأنني في حاجة للكذب كما لا تزال ممكنة (من السهل القيام به عند تقييم الألم في 10 ولا العلاج لك - NOT). أنا وضعت في الجهاز وفعلت صالح, لكن, كما حاولت أن تتنفس,

The opening in a GE Signa MRI machine

افتتاح في آلة التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي GE سينيا (الصورة الائتمان: ويكيبيديا)

أنا لا يمكن أن يتوسع بشكل كامل صدري أن تأخذ نفسا. أتمكن من الحصول على ما لا يزيد عن 1/2 نفسا قبل انقباض الجهاز منع مزيد من التوسع في صدري. بعد عدة الأنفاس جزئية, كنت أعرف أنني لا يمكن أن تتنفس بهذه الطريقة ل 45 دقيقة. قلت لهم ذلك وأنا أزيل من الجهاز - كان قليلا صغيرة جدا. كما كنت بعجلات إلى ER, قال لي الممرضة عن آلات أكبر و التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي المفتوح الآلات في المنطقة. قال, "نحن يمكن ان تحصل في واحدة من تلك. We'll see what we can do about that." أنا أعيد إلى طاولة الامتحان الانتظار. ونصف ساعة مرت مع أي شخص التدقيق على لي. ثم وصل الطبيب ER. وقال لي الذي كان والذي كان قد تم الإشراف على رعايتي. ثم سألني مرتين إذا كنت منفلت. مرة أخرى أنا ردوا, "لا منفلت, I can't go!" ثم قال, "ليس لديك متلازمة ذيل الفرس. منذ ونحن على غرفة الطوارئ وحالة ليست طارئة, نحن لا يمكن أن يحولك إلى مرفق التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي للمرضى الخارجيين. I'm going to give you a prescription for Percocet and a referral to our group's back specialist, لأول موعد متاح. وقال انه يمكن إصدار أمر بإجراء التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي بالنسبة لك." مع أنه كان ذهب.

قريبا, جاء شخص وقال في أنا وزوجتي أن 2 أن المزيد من الناس تكون قادمة في, واحد مع الأوراق التفريغ وآخر لعجلة لي من مرفق. حول 3:15, جاءت امرأة مع وصفة طبية والتفريغ ورقات في. وقال ورقات التفريغ أود أن أعود إلى ER إذا كان أي من هذه الأعراض أو إذا ازداد سوءا أنا وضعت أي من هذه الأعراض:

"زيادة الألم, ألم في البطن, حمى, صعوبة في السيطرة على الأمعاء / المثانة, أو أية مخاوف أخرى."

كان ذلك في صفحة واحدة من التعليمات.

وذكرت صفحة أخرى هذا:

"يجب عليك الحصول على الرعاية الطبية فورا, سواء هنا أو في أقرب قسم الطوارئ, إذا كان أي من التالية يحدث:

  • فقدان الأمعاء أو المثانة السيطرة (أنت نفسك من التربة الرطبة).
  • ضعف وعدم القدرة على المشي أو مستخدم ساقك(ق) أو تسليح(ق).
  • الألم لا يعفى من المسكنات.
  • حمى (درجة الحرارة أكثر 100.5 F) أو الهز قشعريرة.
  • ألم شديد أن يستقر على واحدة فقرات خاصة (عظم) في ظهرك."

ضحكت عندما قرأت هذه! Well as much as one can laugh while in the worst pain I've ever felt. أنا كان بالفعل معظم هذه العودة أو الحصول على أعراض اهتماما فوريا!! وقالت المرأة ان هذه كانت تعليمات التفريغ فقط عام للأقراص الغضروفي وغير محددة بالنسبة لي.

يجب أن يتم معظم الدول الأدبيات الطبية التي مزيلة للضغط جراحة داخل 24-48 ساعات أو نتائج أسوأ بكثير. مرة واحدة تلك 48 ساعات ذهب و, you're pretty well going to wind up disabled for the rest of your life. لذلك يقول الأدب. I can tell you right now that that is not always the case as I'm living proof, ولكن هذه قصة أخرى.

تقول الأدبيات الطبية الأخرى أن الجراحة يجب القيام به في غضون 6-12 ساعات للتأثير على نتائج. Still other studies say that time to surgery doesn't affect the outcome. لماذا هذا الاختلاف? ذيل الفرس متلازمة نادرة. لا أحد يعرف بالضبط كيف نادرة, ولكن بحثي من التقديرات المتاحة تشير إلى أن ما لا يزيد عن بضع مئات من الحالات الجديدة سنويا في الولايات المتحدة.

استغرق الأمر في نهاية المطاف 2 أسابيع لعملية جراحية بلدي التي يتعين القيام بها. عملية جراحية في مستشفى ريفرسايد الميثودية في كولومبوس, OH سارت على ما يرام, ذهبت من خلال الحاد رحاب هناك لمدة أسبوع بعد الجراحة. ثم ذهبت من خلال 15 جلسات العلاج الطبيعي في NovaCare في سترفيل, OH. نتائج بلدي هو أن لدي بعض الشعور العادي بلدي مرة أخرى في منطقة الخصر إلى حد ما في بلدي الفخذين والسيقان في بلدي. لدي وخز مؤلم في أجزاء أخرى من بلدي الفخذين وقدمي. بلدي العجول هي في معظمها خدر إلا إذا ضغطت على - ثم استطيع ان اقول هي مكتظة عضلات الساق, but the good part is that I can't feel the cramps. أنا لا تمتد عدة مرات في اليوم لمدة العجول وأوتار الركبة. يمكنني استخدام الرؤية لتحقيق التوازن وتضاءلت ضعف الساق, إيجيبت. عادت القوة, إلى النقطة التي يمكنني أن تمشي 500 قدم بعصا وحول 125 قدم بدون مساعدة. الأمعاء والمثانة الأداء هو أنها تعمل, I just can't control them or tell when I have to go - أحصل على المفاجآت. وأنا أحاول أن تذهب على جدول منتظم لتجنب المفاجآت وأستطيع أن أقول أكثر من مرة عندما المثانة بلدي هو الحصول على مقربة من نقطة تسريب. أحصل على دقيقة أو دقيقتين من التحذير على حركات الأمعاء أكثر من مرة, but I don't generally feel them.

وبعبارة أخرى, تأجيل الجراحة بلدي أن يترك لي المعاقين, في السرير, cathing نفسي, وعلى مسكنات الألم. أعمل بدوام كامل, am ambulatory over short distances don't need cathing, وأنا على خفيف, مسكنات الألم غير المخدرة. باختصار, وكان الانتعاش عظيم لي. واحدة من أفضل. لكن, لا يزال لدي حياة اليومية كونه التحدي البدني والنضال. That won't change, but that's okay (موضوع قصة أخرى.) فعلت الكثير من يتساءل إذا كنت قد حصلت على العودة إلى وضعها الطبيعي, أو شبه طبيعي, قد كان لي عملية جراحية بسرعة, ضمن 48 ساعات. الشعور بأن الرعاية التي تلقيتها من الطبيب ER كان مهملا, أخذت كل شيء إلى كولومبوس, OH المحامي. دعا محام آخر في كليفلاند, OH للرأي ثان.

كلاهما اتفقا على ان الممارسات الخاطئة ملتزمة, أن الطبيب ER "مرر الكرة" باعتبارها واحدة من المحامين وضعه. لكن, ويرجع ذلك إلى معايير لمطالبات التعويض في ولاية أوهايو, both attorneys felt that proving that the doctor's negligence greatly affected my outcome (بلدي حقا أفضل بكثير مما كان متوقعا من قبل الحقائق نتائج) سيكون تحديا لا يمكن التغلب عليها في المحكمة. لأن ذلك هو الجزء الذي يدفع حقا كمية الدولار من أي تسوية, and thus the attorney's fees, بلدي الرائع, الانتعاش المباركة يجعل متابعة الممارسات الخاطئة وإهمال الطبيب ER غير مجدية. لو لم أكن قد دفعت لاسترداد, I could have gotten a nice settlement... I'll take my recovery anytime!

So the summary is that the laws in Ohio say that what I've been through, وسوف تذهب من خلال ما تبقى من حياتي, يرقى إلى أي شيء. نظامنا القانوني هو أن هذه الحالات المربحة فقط يتم متابعتها. والنظام الطبي لدينا لا تثقيف الأطباء, الممرضات, وأول المستجيبين بشكل كاف كما أنها لا الاحتفاظ بها وتحديثها. أدرك الطبيب ER أن الاحتفاظ المثانة وسلس البول ليس فقط هو مؤشر, لكنا الذهبي. المعلومات بشأن الاحتفاظ متاح على نطاق واسع على شبكة الانترنت وفي المجلات الطبية.

لخصم التشخيص الصحيح على أساس 1 أعراض ليس هو ما أريد في الطبيب. أشعر أن العدالة قد فقدت في هذا واحد. لكن, أنا في سلام مع هذا وأنا تتصل في هذا المنصب - عنوان مدونتي تغيير ولكن لا يزال من متلازمة ذيل الفرس والبيانات.

تتعزز زمنتا

تركبكس

  1. […] ظلم – بلدي متلازمة ذيل الفرس قصة القانونية […]

  2. […] ظلم – بلدي متلازمة ذيل الفرس قصة القانونية […]

s2Member®
المدونين مثل هذا:

Injustice – My Cauda Equina Syndrome Legal Story

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×

Malpractice - 165/365 Because it is rare, some who develop Cauda Equina Syndrome are the victims of medical malpractice.  Anecdotal stories abound, along with some documented ones, of CES being brought on or made worse by malpractice.  Given the laws covering malpractice in varying jurisdictions and the variability of each person's CES,  no one can be certain if a case exists or how it will turn out.  This is my story.  It has been reviewed by 2 Ohio attorneys who have experience in Cauda Equina Syndrome malpractice cases.  You won't like what it says about our legislatures, legal system, and of course doctor education.

My Cauda Equina Syndrome started with my injury.  Within 10 hours of the onset of my CES symptoms, I was in an Emergency Room in Westerville, OH.  Upon waking on the morning of Feb 12, 2013, I found that I not only had the severe back and sciatic pain of the night before, but now I was NUMB from the waist down!  I could not void my bladder nor defecate.  I could not move my feet up ces 3nor down and without feeling in my feet and ankles, I could not balance.  These are all classic symptoms of Cauda Equina Syndrome.  Fortunately we had a wheelchair (and some adult diapers) and just after 10 a.m., I arrived at the ER in my wheelchair.

We had been told that this ER was fast and efficient, and it was close to the office of the physician who suspected Cauda Equina Syndrome and sent us to an ER (with specific directions to have an MRI done.)  Immediately upon arrival at the ER, I was wheeled to an exam room and I transferred from my wheelchair to the exam table.  My vitals were taken and the male nurse assigned to me came in for the initial assessment.  He stood about 5' 4", about 150 pounds, a pleasant. individual who began asking about my symptoms.  With my mentioning Cauda Equina Syndrome, he asked if I was incontinent.  I said, "No.  I can't go!"  He then asked me to stand up.   I told him I couldn't.  I knew I would fall right over, not because my legs wouldn't support me but because I had no balance.  And I knew that his small frame would be overwhelmed by my 6 foot tall, 325 pound body.  No way he can stop me from falling over if he doesn't prevent it to start with.  I told him so, yet he insisted. The results were predictable.  On standing up, I immediately began tilting (away from him, naturally) and over I went.  The nurse could no longer stop it.  The rolling chair in front of a fixed desk was in line with my movement.  I was able to grab the back of the chair and as it rolled into the desk, it locked in and I was able to stop my fall.  He asked me again if I was incontinent.  I responded as I had before.  That concluded the initial exam.

A short while later the nurse came back in.  He told me that the ER doctor had ordered an MRI for me.  The MRI machine was located at the other end of this Ohio Health Medical Campus and did not have an opening for me for almost 4 hours.  I had to wait, on that exam table, in pain, until then.  The nurse did check on me a couple of times, one time bringing me a couple of replacement diapers as my bladder was so full it was leaking (I still couldn't go!)  Thankfully, my wife had some snacks in her purse or I would have been without food for over 10 hours that day - not good for a diabetic!  No one ever asked if I was hungry, even though I was there over lunch time. Around 2:15 p.m. the nurse came and took me to the MRI machine.  As we wheeled in, I could see that the machine was an older type that was very small.  I did not think I would fit.  They told me the test would last about 45 minutes and that I needed to lie as still as possible (easy to do when you rate your pain at a 10 and you are not medicated - NOT).  I was put into the machine and I did fit, however, as I tried to breathe,

The opening in a GE Signa MRI machine

The opening in a GE Signa MRI machine (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I could not fully expand my chest to take in a breath.  I could get no more than 1/2 a breath before the constriction of the machine prevented further expansion of my chest.  After several partial breaths, I knew that I could not breathe this way for 45 minutes.  I told them so and I was removed from the machine - it was just a little too small.  As I was wheeled back to the ER, the nurse told me about the larger machines and the open MRI machines in the area.  He said, "We can get you into one of those.  We'll see what we can do about that."  I was returned to the exam table to wait. A half an hour passed with no one checking on me.  Then the ER doctor arrived.  He told me who he was and that he had been overseeing my care.  He then asked me twice if I was incontinent.  Again I responded with, "Not incontinent, I can't go!"  Then he said, "You do NOT have Cauda Equina Syndrome.  Since we are an Emergency Room and your case is not emergent, we can not refer you to an outpatient MRI facility.  I'm going to give you a prescription for Percocet and a referral to our group's back specialist, for a first available appointment.  He can order an MRI for you."   With that he was gone.

Shortly, a person came in and told my wife and I that 2 more people would be coming in, one with the discharge papers and another to wheel me out of the facility.  About 3:15, the woman with the prescription and discharge papers came in.  The discharge papers said I should come back to the ER if any of my symptoms got worse OR if I developed any of these symptoms:

"Increased pain, abdominal pain, fever, difficulty controlling bowel/bladder, or any further concerns."

That was on one page of the instructions.

Another page stated this:

"YOU SHOULD SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION IMMEDIATELY, EITHER HERE OR AT THE NEAREST EMERGENCY DEPARTMENT, IF ANY OF THE FOLLOWING OCCURS:

  • Loss of bowel or bladder control (you soil of wet yourself).
  • Weakness of inability to walk or user your leg(s) or arm(s).
  • Pain not relieved by pain medication.
  • Fever (temperature over 100.5 F) or shaking chills.
  • Severe pain that settles over one particular vertebrae (bone) in your back."

I laughed when I read these!  Well as much as one can laugh while in the worst pain I've ever felt.  I already had most of these return or get immediate attention symptoms!!  The woman said that these were just generic discharge instructions for herniated discs and not specific to me.

Most medical literature states that decompressive surgery must be done within 24-48 hours or the outcome is far worse.  Once those 48 hours are gone, you're pretty well going to wind up disabled for the rest of your life.  So says the literature.  I can tell you right now that that is not always the case as I'm living proof, but that is another story.

Other medical literature says that the surgery must be done within 6-12 hours to effect the outcome.  Still other studies say that time to surgery doesn't affect the outcome.  Why such divergence?  Cauda Equina Syndrome is rare.  No one knows exactly how rare, but my research of available estimates would indicate no more than a few hundred new cases a year in the U.S.

It ultimately took 2 weeks for my surgery to be performed.  The surgery at Riverside Methodist Hospital in Columbus, OH went well, I went through Acute Rehab there for a week after the surgery.  I then went through 15 sessions of Physical Therapy at NovaCare in Westerville, OH.  My outcome is that I have some normal feeling again in my waist area somewhat in my thighs and in my shins.  I have painful tingling in other parts of my thighs and in my feet.  My calves are mostly numb unless pressed upon - then I can tell the leg muscles are cramped up, but the good part is that I can't feel the cramps.  I do stretches several times a day for calves and hamstrings.  I use vision for balance and the leg weakness has diminished, i.e. strength has returned, to the point where I can walk about 500 feet with a cane and about 125 feet unassisted.  Bowel and bladder functioning is that they function, I just can't control them or tell when I have to go - I get surprises.  I try to go on a regular schedule to avoid surprises and I can tell most of the time when my bladder is getting close to the leaking point.  I get a minute or two of warning on bowel movements most of the time, but I don't generally feel them.

In other words, my delayed surgery should have left me disabled, in bed, cathing myself, and on pain killers.  I work full time, am ambulatory over short distances don't need cathing, and am on mild, non-narcotic pain relievers.  In short, my recovery has been great.  One of the best.  However, I still have a life of everyday being a physical challenge and struggle.  That won't change, but that's okay (subject of another story.)  I did a lot of wondering if I would have gotten back to normal, or almost normal, had I had surgery quickly, within 48 hours. Feeling that the care I received from the ER doctor was negligent, I took everything to a Columbus, OH attorney.  He called on another attorney in Cleveland, OH for a second opinion.

They both agreed that malpractice was committed, that the ER doctor "dropped the ball" as one of the attorneys put it.  However, due to the standards for malpractice claims in Ohio, both attorneys felt that proving that the doctor's negligence greatly affected my outcome (my really much better than predicted by the facts outcome) would be an insurmountable challenge in court.  Since that is the portion that really drives the dollar amount of any settlement, and thus the attorney's fees, my remarkable, blessed recovery makes pursuing the malpractice and negligence of the ER doctor not feasible.  If I had not pushed to recover, I could have gotten a nice settlement... I'll take my recovery anytime!

So the summary is that the laws in Ohio say that what I've been through, and will go through the rest of my life, amounts to nothing.  Our legal system is such that only lucrative cases are pursued.  And our medical system does not educate doctors, nurses, and first responders adequately nor does it keep them updated.  Had the ER doctor realized that bladder retention and not only incontinence  is an indicator, we would have been golden.  The info regarding retention is widely available on the internet and in medical journals.

To discount the correct diagnosis on the basis of 1 symptom is not what I want in a doctor. I feel that justice has lost in this one.  However, I am at peace with this as I relate in this post - My Blog Title Changed but Still About Cauda Equina Syndrome and Me.

Enhanced by Zemanta
0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×

Trackbacks

  1. […] Injustice – My Cauda Equina Syndrome Legal Story […]

  2. […] Injustice – My Cauda Equina Syndrome Legal Story […]

s2Member®
%d bloggers like this: