冤 – 我的馬尾症候群法律故事

Malpractice - 165/365 ecause實屬罕見, 有些誰開發 馬尾綜合徵 是受害者 醫療事故. 軼事典故比比皆是, 還有一些記載的人, 的CES上被帶到上或不當行為而惡化. Given the laws covering malpractice in varying jurisdictions and the variability of each person's CES, 如果存在的情況下沒有人可以肯定,或將如何轉出. 這是我的故事. 已審核通過 2 俄亥俄州的律師誰在馬尾綜合徵糾紛案件的經驗. You won't like what it says about our legislatures, 法制, 當然醫生教育.

我的馬尾綜合徵開始與我的傷. 內 10 我的CES症狀出現的時間, 我在急診室中的Westerville, OH. 醒來後在二月的早晨 12, 2013, 我發現,我不但有夜前的嚴重的背部和坐骨神經痛, 但現在我是從腰部往下NUMB! 我不能喪失我的膀胱也屙. 我不能動我的腳 這些 3也下不來,沒有在我的腳和腳踝的感覺, 我不能平衡. 這是馬尾綜合徵的所有典型症狀. 幸運的是我們有一個輪椅 (而一些成人紙尿褲) 和剛結束 10 上午, 我在輪椅來到了急診室.

我們被告知,這是ER快速,高效, 而據接近誰懷疑馬尾綜合徵,醫生的辦公室,並把我們送到了急診室 (具體方向有一個MRI完成。) 到達急診室後立即, 我被推進到一個考場,我從我的輪椅轉移到了考試表. 我的命脈被帶到並分配給我的男護士進來了初步評估. He stood about 5' 4", 關於 150 英鎊, 愉快. 個人誰開始詢問我的症狀. 與我提的馬尾綜合徵, 他問我是不是失禁. 我說, "沒有. I can't go!" 然後,他問我要站起來. I told him I couldn't. 我知道我會摔倒在右, not because my legs wouldn't support me but because I had no balance. 我知道,他的小框將被壓垮我 6 一尺多高, 325 英鎊身體. No way he can stop me from falling over if he doesn't prevent it to start with. 我告訴他這樣, 但他堅持. 結果可想而知. 上站起來, 我立刻開始傾斜 (離他而去, 自然) 而在我去. 護士再也不能阻止它. 在一個固定的辦公桌前的椅子上滾了符合我的運動. 我能搶到椅子的背面,因為它滾到桌子, 它鎖定在,我能阻止我的秋天. 他問我,如果再我失禁. 我回答,因為我以前有. 這結束了最初的考試.

過了一會兒,護士回來了. 他告訴我說,急診室的醫生已經為我訂購了核磁共振檢查. MRI機器是位於俄亥俄州的這個醫療衛生校園的另一端,並且沒有幾乎一開口我 4 小時. 我不得不等待, 上檢查台, 疼痛, 在那之前. 護士也檢查了我幾次, 有一次把我一對夫婦更換尿布是我的膀胱充滿了那麼多有人洩露 (I still couldn't go!) 感激地, 我的妻子有一些小吃在她的錢包,我已經沒有食物了 10 那天小時 - 對糖尿病不好! 從來沒有人問我是不是餓了, 儘管我在那裡吃午飯的時間. 周圍 2:15 P.M. 護士來了,把我的MRI機. 正如我們在輪動, 我看得出來,機器是舊的類型是非常小. 我沒想到我會適應. 他們告訴我的測試將持續約 45 分鐘,我需要躺下盡可能保持平穩 (如果您對自己的痛苦,在一個容易做的 10 而你是不是藥 - 不). 我被放入機器,我並適應, 然而, 當我試著呼吸,

The opening in a GE Signa MRI machine

在GE Signa的MRI機器開幕 (圖片來源: 維基百科)

我不能完全展開我的胸口採取了口氣. 我能得到不超過 1/2 機器的收縮之前一口氣阻止我胸口的進一步擴大. 經過多次局部呼吸, 我知道我無法呼吸這樣的 45 分鐘. 我告訴他們,我是從機器中取出 - 這只是一個有點小. 當我被推回急診室, 護士告訴了我更大的機器, 開放式MRI 在該區域的機器. 他說,, "我們可以幫你進入其中的一個. We'll see what we can do about that." 我回到了檢查台上等待. 一個半小時​​過去了,在我沒有人檢查. 那麼急診室醫生趕到. 他告訴我他是誰,他一直負責照顧我. 然後,他問了我兩次,如果我是大小便失禁. 我再次報以, "沒有大小便失禁, I can't go!" 然後他說:, "你不要有馬尾綜合徵. 因為我們是一個急診室,你的情況是不是緊急, 我們無法向您推薦的門診MRI設備. I'm going to give you a prescription for Percocet and a referral to our group's back specialist, 對於第一個可用的預約. 他可以為了一個MRI你。" 隨著他走了.

不久, 一個人走了進來,告訴我的妻子和我說 2 更多的人會進來, 一個具有放電的論文和另一輪我出去設施. 關於 3:15, 女子與處方放電紙進來. 放紙說我應該回到急診室,如果我的任何症狀變得更糟還是我開發這些症狀:

"疼痛加重, 腹痛, 發燒, 很難控制腸道/膀胱, 或任何進一步的關注。"

這是對的指示一頁.

另一頁聲明此:

"您應該尋求 就醫 立即, 無論是在這裡還是在最近的 急診科, 如果任一下列情形之一的:

  • 腸道或膀胱失控 (濕自己,你的土壤).
  • 行走無力或用戶你的腿的弱點(s) 或手臂(s).
  • 痛不痛藥緩解.
  • 發燒 (體溫超過 100.5 ˚F) 或寒戰.
  • 劇烈的疼痛落戶在一個特定的椎骨 (骨) 在你的背部。"

我笑了,當我讀到這些! Well as much as one can laugh while in the worst pain I've ever felt. 我 已經有 大多數這些返回或得到立即關注症狀!! 該女子說,這些都是為椎間盤突出只是普通的出院指導,而不是具體的我.

該減壓手術大部分的醫療文獻的狀態,必須在完成 24-48 小時的結果是差遠了. 一旦這些 48 小時都走了, you're pretty well going to wind up disabled for the rest of your life. 所以說,文學. I can tell you right now that that is not always the case as I'm living proof, 但那是另一個故事.

其他醫學文獻說,手術必須在完成 6-12 小時以實現的結果. Still other studies say that time to surgery doesn't affect the outcome. 為什麼這樣的分歧? 馬尾綜合徵是罕見的. 沒有人知道到底有罕見, 但我估計可用的研究將表明,每年不超過幾百個新病例多在美國.

它最終花了 2 要執行週我的手術. 在濱江衛理公會醫院在哥倫布手術, OH順利, 我經歷急性康復手術後去那裡一個星期. 然後,我經歷 15 物理治療在NovaCare在會議的Westerville, OH. 我的結果是,我又有些正常的感覺,在我的腰部有點在我的大腿和我的小腿. 我有痛苦刺痛了我的大腿等部位,並在我的腳. 除非經壓制我的小腿大多是麻木 - 那麼我可以告訴肌肉抽筋了腿, but the good part is that I can't feel the cramps. 我做伸展,每天數次為小腿和腿筋. 我用視覺平衡和腿部無力已經減弱, 即. 實力已經恢復, 到這種地步,我可以步行約 500 腳拄著拐杖和有關 125 腳求告無門. 腸和膀胱功能是它們的功能, I just can't control them or tell when I have to go - 我得到驚喜. 我試著去定期以避免意外,我可以告訴大多數的時候,我的膀胱越來越接近洩漏點. 我上大便的大部分時間報警的一兩分鐘, but I don't generally feel them.

換句話說, 我的延遲手術應該給我留下傷殘, 在床上, cathing自己, 和止痛藥. 我全職工作, am ambulatory over short distances don't need cathing, 而我對輕度, 非麻醉性止痛藥. 簡而言之, 我的恢復已經很大. 其中最好的. 然而, 我還有一個是物理的挑戰和鬥爭生活的日常. That won't change, but that's okay (主題的另一個故事。) 我做了很多不知道的,如果我會得到恢復正常, 或基本正常, 曾經我很快做了手術, 內 48 小時. 感覺,我從急診室醫生接受的護理是疏忽, 我把一切哥倫布, OH律師. 他呼籲在克利夫蘭另一位律師, 俄亥俄州的第二個意見.

他們都一致認為,醫療事故承諾, 該急診醫生 "丟球" 作為律師之一,把它. 然而, 由於該標準在俄亥俄州醫療事故索賠, both attorneys felt that proving that the doctor's negligence greatly affected my outcome (我真的很遠好於預期的事實結果) 將在法庭上難以逾越的挑戰. 因為這是真正推動任何結算金額的部分, and thus the attorney's fees, 我的顯著, 有福的恢復使得追求急診醫生的醫療事故和過失不可行. 如果我沒有推收回, I could have gotten a nice settlement... I'll take my recovery anytime!

So the summary is that the laws in Ohio say that what I've been through, 並會通過我的餘生, 相當於什麼. 我們的法律體系是這樣的,只有賺錢的情況下被追. 而我們的醫療制度不育醫, 護士, 和第一反應充分,也不讓他們更新. 有急診醫生意識到,膀胱瀦留而不僅僅是尿失禁是一個指標, 我們本來是金. 該信息對於保持中獲得廣泛應用在互聯網上,並在醫學期刊.

打折正確診斷的基礎上, 1 症狀是不是我想要的醫生. 我覺得正義已經失去了這一個. 然而, 我在平安這個,因為我與這個職位 - 我的博客標題改變,但仍有約馬尾綜合徵和Me.

由Zemanta的增強
s2Member®
這樣的博客:

Injustice – My Cauda Equina Syndrome Legal Story

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×

Malpractice - 165/365 Because it is rare, some who develop Cauda Equina Syndrome are the victims of medical malpractice.  Anecdotal stories abound, along with some documented ones, of CES being brought on or made worse by malpractice.  Given the laws covering malpractice in varying jurisdictions and the variability of each person's CES,  no one can be certain if a case exists or how it will turn out.  This is my story.  It has been reviewed by 2 Ohio attorneys who have experience in Cauda Equina Syndrome malpractice cases.  You won't like what it says about our legislatures, legal system, and of course doctor education.

My Cauda Equina Syndrome started with my injury.  Within 10 hours of the onset of my CES symptoms, I was in an Emergency Room in Westerville, OH.  Upon waking on the morning of Feb 12, 2013, I found that I not only had the severe back and sciatic pain of the night before, but now I was NUMB from the waist down!  I could not void my bladder nor defecate.  I could not move my feet up ces 3nor down and without feeling in my feet and ankles, I could not balance.  These are all classic symptoms of Cauda Equina Syndrome.  Fortunately we had a wheelchair (and some adult diapers) and just after 10 a.m., I arrived at the ER in my wheelchair.

We had been told that this ER was fast and efficient, and it was close to the office of the physician who suspected Cauda Equina Syndrome and sent us to an ER (with specific directions to have an MRI done.)  Immediately upon arrival at the ER, I was wheeled to an exam room and I transferred from my wheelchair to the exam table.  My vitals were taken and the male nurse assigned to me came in for the initial assessment.  He stood about 5' 4", about 150 pounds, a pleasant. individual who began asking about my symptoms.  With my mentioning Cauda Equina Syndrome, he asked if I was incontinent.  I said, "No.  I can't go!"  He then asked me to stand up.   I told him I couldn't.  I knew I would fall right over, not because my legs wouldn't support me but because I had no balance.  And I knew that his small frame would be overwhelmed by my 6 foot tall, 325 pound body.  No way he can stop me from falling over if he doesn't prevent it to start with.  I told him so, yet he insisted. The results were predictable.  On standing up, I immediately began tilting (away from him, naturally) and over I went.  The nurse could no longer stop it.  The rolling chair in front of a fixed desk was in line with my movement.  I was able to grab the back of the chair and as it rolled into the desk, it locked in and I was able to stop my fall.  He asked me again if I was incontinent.  I responded as I had before.  That concluded the initial exam.

A short while later the nurse came back in.  He told me that the ER doctor had ordered an MRI for me.  The MRI machine was located at the other end of this Ohio Health Medical Campus and did not have an opening for me for almost 4 hours.  I had to wait, on that exam table, in pain, until then.  The nurse did check on me a couple of times, one time bringing me a couple of replacement diapers as my bladder was so full it was leaking (I still couldn't go!)  Thankfully, my wife had some snacks in her purse or I would have been without food for over 10 hours that day - not good for a diabetic!  No one ever asked if I was hungry, even though I was there over lunch time. Around 2:15 p.m. the nurse came and took me to the MRI machine.  As we wheeled in, I could see that the machine was an older type that was very small.  I did not think I would fit.  They told me the test would last about 45 minutes and that I needed to lie as still as possible (easy to do when you rate your pain at a 10 and you are not medicated - NOT).  I was put into the machine and I did fit, however, as I tried to breathe,

The opening in a GE Signa MRI machine

The opening in a GE Signa MRI machine (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I could not fully expand my chest to take in a breath.  I could get no more than 1/2 a breath before the constriction of the machine prevented further expansion of my chest.  After several partial breaths, I knew that I could not breathe this way for 45 minutes.  I told them so and I was removed from the machine - it was just a little too small.  As I was wheeled back to the ER, the nurse told me about the larger machines and the open MRI machines in the area.  He said, "We can get you into one of those.  We'll see what we can do about that."  I was returned to the exam table to wait. A half an hour passed with no one checking on me.  Then the ER doctor arrived.  He told me who he was and that he had been overseeing my care.  He then asked me twice if I was incontinent.  Again I responded with, "Not incontinent, I can't go!"  Then he said, "You do NOT have Cauda Equina Syndrome.  Since we are an Emergency Room and your case is not emergent, we can not refer you to an outpatient MRI facility.  I'm going to give you a prescription for Percocet and a referral to our group's back specialist, for a first available appointment.  He can order an MRI for you."   With that he was gone.

Shortly, a person came in and told my wife and I that 2 more people would be coming in, one with the discharge papers and another to wheel me out of the facility.  About 3:15, the woman with the prescription and discharge papers came in.  The discharge papers said I should come back to the ER if any of my symptoms got worse OR if I developed any of these symptoms:

"Increased pain, abdominal pain, fever, difficulty controlling bowel/bladder, or any further concerns."

That was on one page of the instructions.

Another page stated this:

"YOU SHOULD SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION IMMEDIATELY, EITHER HERE OR AT THE NEAREST EMERGENCY DEPARTMENT, IF ANY OF THE FOLLOWING OCCURS:

  • Loss of bowel or bladder control (you soil of wet yourself).
  • Weakness of inability to walk or user your leg(s) or arm(s).
  • Pain not relieved by pain medication.
  • Fever (temperature over 100.5 F) or shaking chills.
  • Severe pain that settles over one particular vertebrae (bone) in your back."

I laughed when I read these!  Well as much as one can laugh while in the worst pain I've ever felt.  I already had most of these return or get immediate attention symptoms!!  The woman said that these were just generic discharge instructions for herniated discs and not specific to me.

Most medical literature states that decompressive surgery must be done within 24-48 hours or the outcome is far worse.  Once those 48 hours are gone, you're pretty well going to wind up disabled for the rest of your life.  So says the literature.  I can tell you right now that that is not always the case as I'm living proof, but that is another story.

Other medical literature says that the surgery must be done within 6-12 hours to effect the outcome.  Still other studies say that time to surgery doesn't affect the outcome.  Why such divergence?  Cauda Equina Syndrome is rare.  No one knows exactly how rare, but my research of available estimates would indicate no more than a few hundred new cases a year in the U.S.

It ultimately took 2 weeks for my surgery to be performed.  The surgery at Riverside Methodist Hospital in Columbus, OH went well, I went through Acute Rehab there for a week after the surgery.  I then went through 15 sessions of Physical Therapy at NovaCare in Westerville, OH.  My outcome is that I have some normal feeling again in my waist area somewhat in my thighs and in my shins.  I have painful tingling in other parts of my thighs and in my feet.  My calves are mostly numb unless pressed upon - then I can tell the leg muscles are cramped up, but the good part is that I can't feel the cramps.  I do stretches several times a day for calves and hamstrings.  I use vision for balance and the leg weakness has diminished, i.e. strength has returned, to the point where I can walk about 500 feet with a cane and about 125 feet unassisted.  Bowel and bladder functioning is that they function, I just can't control them or tell when I have to go - I get surprises.  I try to go on a regular schedule to avoid surprises and I can tell most of the time when my bladder is getting close to the leaking point.  I get a minute or two of warning on bowel movements most of the time, but I don't generally feel them.

In other words, my delayed surgery should have left me disabled, in bed, cathing myself, and on pain killers.  I work full time, am ambulatory over short distances don't need cathing, and am on mild, non-narcotic pain relievers.  In short, my recovery has been great.  One of the best.  However, I still have a life of everyday being a physical challenge and struggle.  That won't change, but that's okay (subject of another story.)  I did a lot of wondering if I would have gotten back to normal, or almost normal, had I had surgery quickly, within 48 hours. Feeling that the care I received from the ER doctor was negligent, I took everything to a Columbus, OH attorney.  He called on another attorney in Cleveland, OH for a second opinion.

They both agreed that malpractice was committed, that the ER doctor "dropped the ball" as one of the attorneys put it.  However, due to the standards for malpractice claims in Ohio, both attorneys felt that proving that the doctor's negligence greatly affected my outcome (my really much better than predicted by the facts outcome) would be an insurmountable challenge in court.  Since that is the portion that really drives the dollar amount of any settlement, and thus the attorney's fees, my remarkable, blessed recovery makes pursuing the malpractice and negligence of the ER doctor not feasible.  If I had not pushed to recover, I could have gotten a nice settlement... I'll take my recovery anytime!

So the summary is that the laws in Ohio say that what I've been through, and will go through the rest of my life, amounts to nothing.  Our legal system is such that only lucrative cases are pursued.  And our medical system does not educate doctors, nurses, and first responders adequately nor does it keep them updated.  Had the ER doctor realized that bladder retention and not only incontinence  is an indicator, we would have been golden.  The info regarding retention is widely available on the internet and in medical journals.

To discount the correct diagnosis on the basis of 1 symptom is not what I want in a doctor. I feel that justice has lost in this one.  However, I am at peace with this as I relate in this post - My Blog Title Changed but Still About Cauda Equina Syndrome and Me.

Enhanced by Zemanta
0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×

Trackbacks

  1. […] Injustice – My Cauda Equina Syndrome Legal Story […]

  2. […] Injustice – My Cauda Equina Syndrome Legal Story […]

s2Member®
%d bloggers like this: