حياتي مع متلازمة ذيل الفرس – قصة ديفيد Unthank ل

0 مشاعل تغريد 0 الفيسبوك 0 في Google 0 رديت 0 دبوس وحصة 0 Filament.io 0 مشاعل ×

قصتي, حياتي مع متلازمة ذيل الفرس, وبعبارة بلدي. على الفيديو. استمتع!

ديفيد

 

ما حدث?

كنت تتحرك وسادة البداية ملموسة. ليست بعيدة, فقط 18 بوصة. حاولت رفع والانزلاق ... ليست جيدة. وقفت الامر على نهايته ومشى عليه - الكمال. في وقت لاحق من تلك الليلة, نهضت من كرسي للذهاب إلى السرير. شعرت بلدي أسفل الظهر "مضحك" وقاسية قليلا أو ضيق.

استيقظت في صباح اليوم التالي مع ألم حاد يهرول ساقي اليمنى. على 10 جدول, أنا تقييما عليه 5. كيم تعيين موعد مع مقوم العظام لصباح اليوم التالي. بحلول الوقت الذي وصلت إلى المنزل من العمل, كان مستوى ألمي في 10. كنت قد شعرت قط مثل هذا الألم. أخذت مدس الألم وذهبت الى الفراش.

في الساعات الأولى من صباح اليوم, استيقظت جزئيا ولكن لا يزال يحلم. يبدو مثل ساقي ذاهبون خدر. أشعر مرة أخرى نائما. في الصباح, استيقظت لتجد أن لم يكن لدي أي شعور أدناه خصري. معرفة شيء كان خاطئا جدا معي, حافظنا على تعيين وقت مبكر مع مقوم العظام, معي في كرسي متحرك. انها يشتبه متلازمة ذيل الفرس، وأوصى أن أذهب مباشرة إلى غرفة الطوارئ. فعلت.

ما كانت تجربتك هناك?

قال ER لي أنني لم يكن لديهم متلازمة ذيل الفرس وأعطوني الإحالة إلى أخصائي الظهر. لأننا لا نريد أن ننتظر كل هذا الوقت. دعا كيم لدينا طبيب للحصول على التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي أمر; ثم انتظرنا 2 أيام للموافقة التأمين مع التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي يحدث يوم الجمعة, فبراير 15ال.

بلدي طبيب حصلت على نتائج يوم الثلاثاء 19 وأشار لي على الفور إلى الاعصاب. رأيته 2 بعد أيام. أراد لي في المستشفى الآن لإجراء عملية جراحية في اليوم التالي لضغط العمود الفقري.

كان عليه متلازمة ذيل الفرس بعد كل شيء - حالة عملية جراحية طارئة.

المشكلة - كنت على تجلط الدم، وأنها لا يمكن أن تعمل ثم. أنا توقفت ميد وذهب الى المستشفى يوم الاحد, مع الجراحة في اليوم التالي, و25.

ما لم الجراحة لديك?

يقوم الجراح الميكروسكوبية L4/L5 لإزالة أجزاء من قرص تمزق من أجل تخفيف الضغط على العمود الفقري بلدي حزمة الأعصاب. قد تمزق القرص مباشرة في القناة وكان قد سحق الأعصاب السيطرة على أقل من نصف جسدي.

ما حدث بعد ذلك?

قضيت أسبوعا في رحاب الحاد, تعلم كيفية المشي والاستحمام عندما لا يمكنك تحقيق التوازن أو أشعر بأي شيء تحت الخصر. لاستخدام الإنسان أقدامهم, الكاحلين, والساقين لتحقيق التوازن - كنت الحصول على أي ردود فعل من لهم. على الرغم من أن الجراحة يخلص الألم, تجديد الأعصاب فقط في حول 1MM يوميا, وبعد ذلك فقط لنحو 12 - 18 أشهر. حتى الحصول على جميع من شعوري كان يعود تسديدة بعيدة.

كيف يتم استرجاع الذهاب?

جسديا - بعد جاء رحاب العلاج الطبيعي. عاد بعض الشعور الطبيعي لأجزاء من بلدي الفخذين. بقية بقيت خدر أو حصلت مؤلمة الوخز. الآن, 10 بعد أشهر من الإصابة, عاد الشعور إلا في المجالات التي تغطيها الملابس الداخلية والكاحلين من أسفل. قدمي مؤلمة جدا ولدي وتر ربما مزقتها. أواجه أن فحص الاسبوع المقبل.

عاطفيا - الأول ينظر نفسي كمسيحي مع أعمق من المتوسط ​​الإيمان والالتزام يسوع. إلا أنني وجدت نفسي يسأل الله لماذا حدث هذا, يريد أن يعرف هدفه لذلك. من خلال تدريس من الذين يعيشون على حافة في رقاقة انجرام, أدركت أن الله قد وضعت له علامة وتذكير لي. كان الوقت قد حان لاتخاذ الخطوة التالية في رحلة إيماني.

وبطبيعة الحال لم يكن بهذه السهولة! كان الكثير من الألم, البحث عن الروح, صلاة, والبكاء التي دفعتني ليلة مصيرية واحد حيث وضعت بلدي متلازمة ذيل الفرس في يديه. كنت أريد له أن استخدام لي ولكن ربما كان بوسعه. وكان المطلوب أن تسفر له في كل شيء، وأنا في النهاية عند النقطة التي أدركت أنني لا يمكن أن تفعل دون أن.

ما هي التوقعات?

أنا لا أعرف من أين سيأخذ الله لي. لدي مشغول 2014 اصطف! كيم وأنا بصدد إطلاق وزارة المجموعة الصغيرة في كنيستنا, أنا أستعد لوتأخذ الامتحان المهني إدارة محاسب, ووضع تجربتي مع متلازمة ذيل الفرس أنا التورط في دعم التعليم وغير هادفة للربح لمتلازمة ذيل الفرس التي تسعى للنمو في جميع أنحاء العالم. أنا بالتأكيد لا نملك الكثير من وقت الفراغ! ليس سيئا بالنسبة لشخص قبل بضعة أشهر كان يحدق إعاقة مدى الحياة في مواجهة.

سآخذ دائما الأعراض, وذيل الفرس متلازمة تكون جزء مني حتى مماتي, لكنها لن تحدد لي. هو أداة الله للحفاظ على لي المتواضع.

 

 

 

0 مشاعل تغريد 0 الفيسبوك 0 في Google 0 رديت 0 دبوس وحصة 0 Filament.io 0 مشاعل ×
s2Member®
المدونين مثل هذا:

My Life With Cauda Equina Syndrome – David Unthank’s Story

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×

My story, of my life with Cauda Equina Syndrome, in my own words.  On video.  Enjoy!

David

 

What happened? 

I was moving a concrete splash pad.  Not far, just 18 inches.  I tried to lift and slide it… not good.  I stood it up on its end and walked it – perfect.  Later that night, I got up out of the recliner to go to bed.  My lower back felt “funny” and a little stiff or tight.

I awoke the next morning with sharp pain running down my right leg.  On the 10 scale, I rated it a 5.  Kim set an appointment with a Chiropractor for the next morning.  By the time I got home from work, my pain level was at a 10.  I had never felt such pain.  I took pain meds and went to bed.

In the wee hours of the morning, I partially awoke but still dreaming.  It seemed like my legs were going numb.  I feel back asleep.  In the morning, I awoke to find that I had no feeling below my waist.  Knowing something was very wrong with me, we kept the early appointment with the Chiropractor, with me in a wheelchair.  She suspected Cauda Equina Syndrome and recommended I go directly to an Emergency Room.  I did.

What was your experience there? 

The ER told me that I did not have Cauda Equina Syndrome and they gave me a referral to a back specialist.  We didn’t want to wait that long.  Kim called our Doctor to get a MRI ordered; we then waited 2 days for insurance approval with the MRI happening on Friday, Feb 15th.

My Doctor got the results on Tuesday the 19th and referred me immediately to a neurosurgeon.  I saw him 2 days later.  He wanted me in the hospital now for surgery the next day to decompress the spine.

It was Cauda Equina Syndrome after all – an emergency surgery situation.

Problem – I was on a blood thinner and they couldn’t operate then.  I stopped the med and went into the hospital on Sunday, with the surgery the following day, the 25th.

What surgery did you have? 

The surgeon performed a L4/L5 microdiscectomy to remove parts of a ruptured disk in order to relieve the pressure on my spinal nerve bundle.  The disk had ruptured directly into the canal and had crushed the nerves controlling the lower ½ of my body.

What happened next? 

I spent a week in Acute Rehab, learning how to walk and shower when you can’t balance or feel anything below the waist.  Human’s use their feet, ankles, and legs to balance – I was getting no feedback from them.  Although the surgery relieved the pain, nerves only regenerate at about 1mm per day, and then only for about 12 – 18 months.   So getting all of my feeling back was a long shot.

How is the recovery going? 

Physically – After Rehab came Physical Therapy.  Some normal feeling returned to parts of my thighs.  The rest stayed numb or got tingly painful.  Now, 10 months after the injury, feeling has returned except in the areas covered by underwear and from the ankles down.  My feet are very painful and I have a possibly torn tendon.  I’m having that checked next week.

Emotionally – I viewed myself as a Christian with a deeper than average faith and commitment to Jesus.  Yet I found myself asking God why this had happened, wanting to know His purpose for it.  Through teaching from Living On The Edge’s Chip Ingram, I realized that God had placed His mark and reminder on me.  It was time for the next step in my faith journey.

Of course it wasn’t that easy!  It was a lot of anguish, soul searching, prayer, and crying that led me to one fateful night where I placed my Cauda Equina Syndrome into His hands.  I wanted Him to use me however He could.  He was asking to yield to Him in everything and I was finally at the point where I realized that I couldn’t do without that.

What’s the outlook? 

I do not know where God will take me.  I do have a busy 2014 lined up!  Kim and I are launching a Small Group Ministry at our church, I am preparing for and taking the Certified Management Accountant professional exam, and putting my experience with Cauda Equina Syndrome I am becoming involved in a support and education non-profit for Cauda Equina Syndrome which is seeking to grow worldwide.  I certainly won’t have much spare time!  Not bad for someone who a few months ago was staring a lifelong disability in the face.

I’ll always have symptoms, Cauda Equina Syndrome will be a part of me until my dying day, but it will NOT define me.  It is God’s tool to keep me humble.

 

 

 

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×
s2Member®
%d bloggers like this: