我的生活马尾综合征 – 大卫Unthank的故事

0 耀斑 叽叽喳喳 0 Facebook的 0 谷歌 0 书签交易 0 别起来分享 0 Filament.io 0 耀斑 ×

我的故事, 我的生活与马尾神经综合症, 在我自己的话. 视频. 享受!

大卫

 

发生什么事了?

我是移动的混凝土飞溅垫. 不远处, 刚 18 英寸. 我试图抬起并滑动......不好. 我站起来的尽头,走到它 - 完美. 那天晚上, 我起身出了躺椅的上床. 我的下背部感到“好笑”,并有点僵硬或紧.

我第二天早晨醒来有剧烈的疼痛顺着我的右腿. 在 10 规模, 我评为一 5. 金正日设置有一个脊约好第二天早上. 当我下班回家的时候, 我的痛苦水平为一 10. 我从来没有感到这样的痛苦. 我带着止痛药,上床睡觉.

在凌晨的, 我部分地醒了,但还在做梦. 这似乎是我的腿会麻木. 我觉得后面睡着了. 在早晨, 我醒来时,发现我有下面的我的腰没感觉. 知道某事是非常错误的与我, 我们保留了早期预约的按摩师, 与我在轮椅. 她怀疑马尾症候群,并建议我直接去急诊室. 我做了.

什么是你的经验有?

急诊室告诉我,我没有马尾症候群,他们给了我一个转介到专科回. 我们不想等那么久. 金叫我们的医生得到下令核磁共振; 我们再等待 2 保险批准,而MRI检查发生在星期五天, 二月 15.

我的医生得到的结果在周二19,马上叫我去神经外科医生. 我看见他 2 天后. 他要我现在在医院进行手术,第二天解压缩脊柱.

这是马尾症候群毕竟 - 紧急手术情况.

的问题 - 我是在一种血液稀释剂,他们不能再进行操作. 我停止了MED,进了医院周日, 与手术次日, 第25.

你吃的什么手术?

外科医生进行L4/L5显微椎间盘移除磁盘破裂的部位,以减轻我的脊髓神经束的压力. 磁盘已直接破入运河,并粉碎了神经控制我的身体的下部半.

接下来发生的事情?

我在急性康复花了一个星期, 学习如何走路和洗澡的时候你不能平衡或有任何感觉腰部以下. 人类用自己的脚, 脚踝, 和腿平衡 - 我得到他们没有反馈. 虽然手术解除痛苦, 神经再生只在每天约1mm, 然后只约 12 - 18 个月. 所以,我的所有感觉背部是一个长镜头.

如何恢复会?

物理 - 后康复来到物理治疗. 一些正常的感觉回到了我的大腿部位. 其余留麻木或刺痛了痛苦. 现在, 10 伤个月后, 感觉又回到除涵盖内衣等领域,并从脚踝下. 我的脚是很痛苦的,我有一个可能是肌腱撕裂. 我在下周的检查.

在感性 - 我看我自己作为一个基督徒与一个高于平均水平的信心和决心,以更深入的耶稣. 然而,我发现自己问上帝,为什么这事发生, 想知道他的目的吧. 通过从生活在边缘的芯片英格拉姆教学, 我意识到,上帝已经把他的标记和提醒了我. 是时候在我的信仰之旅的下一步.

当然,这不是那么容易! 这是一个很大的苦恼, 反省, 祷告, 哭,导致我一个灾难性的夜晚,我把我的马尾症候群在他手里. 我想让他却用我他可以. 他被要求屈服于他的一切,我终于在这里我实现了点,我不能没有那.

有什么展望?

我不知道上帝会带我. 我有一个忙碌的 2014 排队! 我和金正在推出一个小组事工在我们的教会, 我正在准备,并采取注册管理会计师专业考试, 并把我的经验与马尾症候群我卷入的马尾症候群这是寻求拓展全球业务支持和教育的非盈利. 我当然不会有很多空余时间! 不坏的人谁在几个月前被盯着的脸终身残疾.

我会一直有症状, 马尾综合征将成为我的一部分,直到我死去的那一天, 但它不会定义我. 这是上帝的工具,让我谦卑.

 

 

 

0 耀斑 叽叽喳喳 0 Facebook的 0 谷歌 0 书签交易 0 别起来分享 0 Filament.io 0 耀斑 ×
s2Member®
这样的博客:

My Life With Cauda Equina Syndrome – David Unthank’s Story

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×

My story, of my life with Cauda Equina Syndrome, in my own words.  On video.  Enjoy!

David

 

What happened? 

I was moving a concrete splash pad.  Not far, just 18 inches.  I tried to lift and slide it… not good.  I stood it up on its end and walked it – perfect.  Later that night, I got up out of the recliner to go to bed.  My lower back felt “funny” and a little stiff or tight.

I awoke the next morning with sharp pain running down my right leg.  On the 10 scale, I rated it a 5.  Kim set an appointment with a Chiropractor for the next morning.  By the time I got home from work, my pain level was at a 10.  I had never felt such pain.  I took pain meds and went to bed.

In the wee hours of the morning, I partially awoke but still dreaming.  It seemed like my legs were going numb.  I feel back asleep.  In the morning, I awoke to find that I had no feeling below my waist.  Knowing something was very wrong with me, we kept the early appointment with the Chiropractor, with me in a wheelchair.  She suspected Cauda Equina Syndrome and recommended I go directly to an Emergency Room.  I did.

What was your experience there? 

The ER told me that I did not have Cauda Equina Syndrome and they gave me a referral to a back specialist.  We didn’t want to wait that long.  Kim called our Doctor to get a MRI ordered; we then waited 2 days for insurance approval with the MRI happening on Friday, Feb 15th.

My Doctor got the results on Tuesday the 19th and referred me immediately to a neurosurgeon.  I saw him 2 days later.  He wanted me in the hospital now for surgery the next day to decompress the spine.

It was Cauda Equina Syndrome after all – an emergency surgery situation.

Problem – I was on a blood thinner and they couldn’t operate then.  I stopped the med and went into the hospital on Sunday, with the surgery the following day, the 25th.

What surgery did you have? 

The surgeon performed a L4/L5 microdiscectomy to remove parts of a ruptured disk in order to relieve the pressure on my spinal nerve bundle.  The disk had ruptured directly into the canal and had crushed the nerves controlling the lower ½ of my body.

What happened next? 

I spent a week in Acute Rehab, learning how to walk and shower when you can’t balance or feel anything below the waist.  Human’s use their feet, ankles, and legs to balance – I was getting no feedback from them.  Although the surgery relieved the pain, nerves only regenerate at about 1mm per day, and then only for about 12 – 18 months.   So getting all of my feeling back was a long shot.

How is the recovery going? 

Physically – After Rehab came Physical Therapy.  Some normal feeling returned to parts of my thighs.  The rest stayed numb or got tingly painful.  Now, 10 months after the injury, feeling has returned except in the areas covered by underwear and from the ankles down.  My feet are very painful and I have a possibly torn tendon.  I’m having that checked next week.

Emotionally – I viewed myself as a Christian with a deeper than average faith and commitment to Jesus.  Yet I found myself asking God why this had happened, wanting to know His purpose for it.  Through teaching from Living On The Edge’s Chip Ingram, I realized that God had placed His mark and reminder on me.  It was time for the next step in my faith journey.

Of course it wasn’t that easy!  It was a lot of anguish, soul searching, prayer, and crying that led me to one fateful night where I placed my Cauda Equina Syndrome into His hands.  I wanted Him to use me however He could.  He was asking to yield to Him in everything and I was finally at the point where I realized that I couldn’t do without that.

What’s the outlook? 

I do not know where God will take me.  I do have a busy 2014 lined up!  Kim and I are launching a Small Group Ministry at our church, I am preparing for and taking the Certified Management Accountant professional exam, and putting my experience with Cauda Equina Syndrome I am becoming involved in a support and education non-profit for Cauda Equina Syndrome which is seeking to grow worldwide.  I certainly won’t have much spare time!  Not bad for someone who a few months ago was staring a lifelong disability in the face.

I’ll always have symptoms, Cauda Equina Syndrome will be a part of me until my dying day, but it will NOT define me.  It is God’s tool to keep me humble.

 

 

 

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×
s2Member®
%d bloggers like this: