背后的故事 – 国际消费电子展 | 月 3 马尾综合征

欢迎回到故事, 部分 3.

这些职位将被从什么时候我患了追赶 马尾综合征 在开始之前我的博客月 4.

4月17日, 2013, 家:

从我 - 我的康复继续和我看到的改进, 这是值得欢迎, 但也不总是宜人. 正如我开始越来越在一个地区回来的感觉, 它通常是痛苦,我觉得. I've had a lot of pain related to a very tight 梨状肌 在我的右髋关节. I've had exercises and stretches for it, 这有助于一些. 其他一些 辛劳 有消退, 现在是时候集中精力,我觉得最大的痛苦,现在,这是在臀部上方的背面. 它来自一个打结了, 梨状肌的上端.

在周一 物理疗法, 我的治疗师花了大约 5 分钟做那个地方的深层肌肉按摩. 它 "伤好" 整个时间. 按摩几分钟后, 痛苦减少到什么. 我有更好的流动性, 走路或坐不痛! 星期一和第一 1/2 周二是伟大的. 然后, 当然, 肌肉开始再次收紧. 周四我有我的下一个PT会话. 金会与我和我的治疗师, 嘉莉, 是要告诉她在哪里和做什么. 在从这种疼痛缓解, 我需要很少的止痛药. Now that is a goal I'm looking for!

I'm working 1/2 时间现在, 并与PT和重建仍然后劲, 该作品为我好. 我会留在 1/2 - 3/4 时间几个星期然后尝试使其恢复到全职.

感觉恢复在上周:

右大腿外 (部分) - 结果是,我感到紧张, 肌腱发炎现在有
脚裤 - 现在我可以感觉到地板是凉
右上脚 - anything that touches it feels like I'm being stung by a wasp
这两种牛犊 - 现在我能感觉到他们一直有抽筋

还是麻木了/没感觉:

背部和腹股沟区
大腿 - 背面, 上 4 仅限英寸, 双腿
小腿 - 我可以告诉大家触摸到这些地区, 在小腿或双方不痛, 小腿抽筋虽然
脚 & 脚踝 - 仍然主要麻木

还是难以平衡 - 我可以站在不援助 60 - 90 秒, 我能达到短距离 (在某些方向只) 对于对象

坐 - 还是很难坐长. 几把椅子,我可以持续一个小时, 他人 10 分钟. 多久我可以忍受坐在这椅子的变化每天都.

步行 (用学步车) - 从梨状肌疼痛通常会限制我走动 400 脚在同一时间用长休息间

步行 (甘蔗) - 我现在可以短距离行走 (<50 脚) 带着一根手杖. 很累的话, so I don't do it much. 治疗建议 3 短手杖走了一天.

步行 (求告无门) - 我可以走得很慢, 让死者确保我的余额每一步, 供的距离 5 - 8 脚. 这是新的.

总结 - 正在取得进展, 很长的路要走. 继续祈祷Kim和我由于尚有从马尾综合征等问题这很可能永远不会恢复正常,影响日常生活. 这是最艰难的,因为没有可用于这些问题的处理, 它只是到主有无神经损伤愈合或不.

我们的希望和信心都在 上帝's hands. 赞美是神的祝福!

4月26日, NovaCare康复, 魏斯特维尔, OH:

从我 - 那么今天是各种各样的悲伤的日子. It is my physical therapist's last day here in Ohio. 她是物理治疗的学生的博士谁一直在做她最后的实习NovaCare在魏斯特维尔. 今天之后, 她将会完成,头球回布法罗, 纽约毕业. 祝贺您, 嘉莉!

NovaCare昨天对她一个告别派对与史瑞克主题. 嘉莉被打扮成驴. 至于我, the following picture will confirm what some of you have thought about me for a long time....

嘉莉

 

 

4月20日, 2013, 家:

从我 - Bummer... 但良好, 我希望. 我的右大腿前面感觉就像是瘙痒. 当然,当我划伤, I don't feel a thing. But I'm hopeful that this is an indicator of feeling coming back to that area. 然而, nothing escapes the fact that it is a total bummer having a body part itch and not be able to get relief from scratching it 🙂

并与, 我们来到了后面的故事的结尾. 继续进行第4个月>>>

One thought on “背后的故事 – 国际消费电子展 | 月 3 马尾综合征”

Comments are closed.

Back Story – CES | Month 3 with Cauda Equina Syndrome

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×

Welcome to Back Story, Part 3.  

These posts will be catching up from when I was stricken with Cauda Equina Syndrome until starting my blog at Month 4.  

Apr 17th, 2013, Home:

From me - my rehabilitation continues and I am seeing improvement, which is welcome, but not always pleasant. As I start getting feeling back in an area, it is usually pain that I feel. I've had a lot of pain related to a very tight piriformis muscle in my right hip. I've had exercises and stretches for it, which have helped some. As some other pains have subsided, it is time to concentrate on the biggest pain I feel right now and that is at the top of the hip on the back side. It comes from a knotted up, top end of the piriformis.

Monday at Physical Therapy, my therapist took about 5 minutes to do a deep muscle massage of that spot. It "hurt good" the whole time. A few minutes after the massage, the pain decreased to nothing. I had much better mobility, no pain from walking or sitting! Monday and the first 1/2 of Tuesday were great. Then, of course, the muscle started tightening again. Thursday I have my next PT session. Kim is going with me and my therapist, Carrie, is going to show her where and what to do. During the relief from this pain, I need very little pain medication. Now that is a goal I'm looking for!

I'm working 1/2 time right now, and with the PT and still rebuilding stamina, that works good for me. I will stay at 1/2 - 3/4 time a few more weeks then try to make it back to full time.

Feeling recovered in the last week:

Right outside thigh (parts) - result is that I feel the tight, inflamed tendon there now
Bottoms of feet - I can now feel when the floor is cool
Top of right foot - anything that touches it feels like I'm being stung by a wasp
Both calves - I can now feel the cramps they have been having

Still numb/no feeling:

Backside and groin areas
Thighs - back side, upper 4 inches only, both legs
Lower legs - I can tell touch to these areas, no pain in shins or sides, calves cramping though
Feet & Ankles - still mostly numb

Still hard to balance - I can stand without assistance for 60 - 90 seconds, I can reach a short distance (in certain directions only) for objects

Sitting - still tough to sit for long. Some chairs I can last an hour, others 10 minutes. And how long I can bear to sit in which chairs changes from day to day.

Walking (with walker) - pain from the piriformis usually limits me to walking around 400 feet at a time with a long rest in between

Walking (with cane) - I can now walk short distances (<50 feet) with a cane. Very tiring to do so, so I don't do it much. Therapist recommends 3 short cane walks a day.

Walking (unassisted) - I can walk very slowly, make dead sure of my balance for each step, for a distance of 5 - 8 feet. This is new.

Summary - progress being made, a long way to go yet. Keep on praying for Kim and me as there are still other issues from the cauda equina syndrome which are likely to never get back to normal and affect everyday life. These are the toughest as there is no treatment available for these issues, it is just up to the Lord whether the nerve damage heals or not.

Our hopes and faith are in God's hands. Praise be to God for His blessings!

Apr 26th, NovaCare Rehabilitation, Westerville, OH:

From me - Well today is a sad day of sorts. It is my physical therapist's last day here in Ohio. She is a Doctor of Physical Therapy student who has been doing her final internship at NovaCare in Westerville. After today, she will be finished and headed back to Buffalo, NY to graduate. Congratulations, Carrie!

NovaCare had a goodbye party for her yesterday with a Shrek theme. Carrie was dressed up as Donkey. As for me, the following picture will confirm what some of you have thought about me for a long time....

Carrie

 

 

Apr 20th, 2013, Home:

From me - Bummer... but good, I hope. The front of my right thigh feels like it is itching. Of course when I scratch it, I don't feel a thing. But I'm hopeful that this is an indicator of feeling coming back to that area. However, nothing escapes the fact that it is a total bummer having a body part itch and not be able to get relief from scratching it 🙂

And with that, we come to the end of the back story.  Continue with Month 4>>>

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×
s2Member®
%d bloggers like this: