Back Story – CES | Monat 3 mit Kaudasyndrom

Willkommen auf Back Story, Teil 3.

Diese Stellen werden von oben werden als ich mit betroffenen Fang Cauda equine Syndrom ab, bis mein Blog unter Monat 4.

17. April, 2013, Zuhause:

Von mir - meine Reha geht weiter und ich sehe Verbesserung, was zu begrüßen ist, aber nicht immer angenehm. Als ich anfangen, das Gefühl wieder in einem Bereich,, es ist in der Regel Schmerzen, dass ich das Gefühl,. I've had a lot of pain related to a very tight M. piriformis in meiner rechten Hüfte. I've had exercises and stretches for it, die einige dazu beigetragen haben,. Wie einige andere Wehen haben nachgelassen, es ist Zeit, auf der größten Schmerzen, die ich jetzt fühle konzentrieren, und das ist an der Spitze der Hüfte auf der Rückseite. Es kommt aus einem geknoteten bis, oberen Ende der piriformis.

Montag um Physikalische Therapie, mein Therapeut dauerte etwa 5 Minuten, um eine tiefe Muskelmassage von dieser Stelle tun. Es "verletzt gut" die ganze Zeit. Ein paar Minuten nach der Massage, der Schmerz verringert, um nichts. Ich hatte viel bessere Mobilität, keine Schmerzen vom Gehen oder Sitzen! Montag und der erste 1/2 Dienstag waren großartig. Dann, natürlich, der Muskel wieder gestartet Anziehen. Donnerstag habe ich meinen nächsten PT-Sitzung. Kim ist mit mir und meinem Therapeuten gehen, Carrie, wird ihr zeigen, wo und was zu tun. Während der Befreiung von diesem Schmerz, Ich brauche sehr wenig Schmerzmittel. Now that is a goal I'm looking for!

I'm working 1/2 Zeit jetzt, und mit der PT und Wiederaufbau noch Ausdauer, das funktioniert gut für mich. Ich werde bleiben 1/2 - 3/4 Mal ein paar Wochen dann versuchen, es zurück zu Vollzeit machen.

Das Gefühl in der letzten Woche erholt:

Direkt vor Oberschenkel (Teile) - Ergebnis ist, dass ich das Gefühl, die eng, entzündete Sehne jetzt da
Fußsohlen - Ich kann jetzt das Gefühl, wenn der Boden ist cool
Top des rechten Fußes - anything that touches it feels like I'm being stung by a wasp
Beide Kälber - Ich kann jetzt das Gefühl, die Krämpfe wurden sie mit

Noch taub / kein Gefühl:

Rückseite und Leiste Bereichen
Oberschenkel - Rückseite, obere 4 nur in Zoll, beide Beine
Unterschenkel - Ich kann Note zu diesen Bereichen zu erzählen, keine Schmerzen in den Schienbeinen oder an den Seiten, Waden Krämpfe obwohl
Füße & Knöchel - meist noch taub

Immer noch schwer auszugleichen - Ich kann ohne Hilfe stehen für 60 - 90 Sekunden, Ich kann eine kurze Distanz erreichen (in bestimmte Richtungen nur) für Objekte,

Sitzend - immer noch schwer, lange sitzen. Einige Stühle Ich kann eine Stunde dauern, andere 10 Protokoll. Und wie lange kann ich tragen zu sitzen, in dem Stühle ändert sich von Tag zu Tag.

Wandern (mit Rollator) - Schmerzen von den piriformis schränkt mich in der Regel zu Fuß rund um 400 Füße in einer Zeit mit einer langen Pause dazwischen

Wandern (mit Rohr) - Jetzt kann ich gehen kurze Strecken (<50 Füße) mit einem Stock. Sehr anstrengend, so zu tun, so I don't do it much. Therapeut empfiehlt 3 Kurz Stock geht einen Tag.

Wandern (ohne Hilfe) - Ich kann sehr langsam gehen, stellen Sie sicher, dass der Toten mein Gleichgewicht für jeden Schritt, für einen Abstand von 5 - 8 Füße. Das ist neu.

Zusammenfassung - Fortschritte gemacht, ein langer Weg vor uns. Betet für mich, als Kim und gibt es noch andere Themen aus der Kaudasyndrom, die wahrscheinlich nie wieder normal und beeinträchtigen den Alltag sind. Dies sind die härtesten, da es keine Behandlung für diese Probleme verfügbar, es ist nur bis zu dem Herrn, ob die Nervenschäden heilt oder nicht.

Unsere Hoffnung und Glaube sind in Gott's hands. Gelobt sei Gott für seinen Segen!

26. April, Novacare Rehabilitation, Wester, OH:

Von mir - Nun, heute ist ein trauriger Tag von Arten. It is my physical therapist's last day here in Ohio. Sie ist ein Doktor der Physiotherapie Student, der getan hat, ihre letzten Praktikum bei Novacare in Westerville. Nach dem heutigen, wird sie fertig und ging zurück nach Buffalo werden, NY zu absolvieren. Gratulation, Carrie!

Novacare hatte eine Abschiedsparty für sie gestern mit einem Shrek Thema. Carrie wurde als Esel verkleidet. Wie für mich, the following picture will confirm what some of you have thought about me for a long time....

Carrie

 

 

20. April, 2013, Zuhause:

Von mir - Bummer... aber gut, Ich hoffe, dass. Die vor meinem rechten Oberschenkel fühlt sich an wie es ist Juckreiz. Natürlich, wenn ich kratzen, I don't feel a thing. But I'm hopeful that this is an indicator of feeling coming back to that area. Jedoch, nothing escapes the fact that it is a total bummer having a body part itch and not be able to get relief from scratching it 🙂

Und damit, wir am Ende der Geschichte zurück zu kommen. Fahren Sie mit dem Monat 4>>>

s2Member®
%d Blogger wie diese:

Back Story – CES | Month 3 with Cauda Equina Syndrome

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×

Welcome to Back Story, Part 3.  

These posts will be catching up from when I was stricken with Cauda Equina Syndrome until starting my blog at Month 4.  

Apr 17th, 2013, Home:

From me - my rehabilitation continues and I am seeing improvement, which is welcome, but not always pleasant. As I start getting feeling back in an area, it is usually pain that I feel. I've had a lot of pain related to a very tight piriformis muscle in my right hip. I've had exercises and stretches for it, which have helped some. As some other pains have subsided, it is time to concentrate on the biggest pain I feel right now and that is at the top of the hip on the back side. It comes from a knotted up, top end of the piriformis.

Monday at Physical Therapy, my therapist took about 5 minutes to do a deep muscle massage of that spot. It "hurt good" the whole time. A few minutes after the massage, the pain decreased to nothing. I had much better mobility, no pain from walking or sitting! Monday and the first 1/2 of Tuesday were great. Then, of course, the muscle started tightening again. Thursday I have my next PT session. Kim is going with me and my therapist, Carrie, is going to show her where and what to do. During the relief from this pain, I need very little pain medication. Now that is a goal I'm looking for!

I'm working 1/2 time right now, and with the PT and still rebuilding stamina, that works good for me. I will stay at 1/2 - 3/4 time a few more weeks then try to make it back to full time.

Feeling recovered in the last week:

Right outside thigh (parts) - result is that I feel the tight, inflamed tendon there now
Bottoms of feet - I can now feel when the floor is cool
Top of right foot - anything that touches it feels like I'm being stung by a wasp
Both calves - I can now feel the cramps they have been having

Still numb/no feeling:

Backside and groin areas
Thighs - back side, upper 4 inches only, both legs
Lower legs - I can tell touch to these areas, no pain in shins or sides, calves cramping though
Feet & Ankles - still mostly numb

Still hard to balance - I can stand without assistance for 60 - 90 seconds, I can reach a short distance (in certain directions only) for objects

Sitting - still tough to sit for long. Some chairs I can last an hour, others 10 minutes. And how long I can bear to sit in which chairs changes from day to day.

Walking (with walker) - pain from the piriformis usually limits me to walking around 400 feet at a time with a long rest in between

Walking (with cane) - I can now walk short distances (<50 feet) with a cane. Very tiring to do so, so I don't do it much. Therapist recommends 3 short cane walks a day.

Walking (unassisted) - I can walk very slowly, make dead sure of my balance for each step, for a distance of 5 - 8 feet. This is new.

Summary - progress being made, a long way to go yet. Keep on praying for Kim and me as there are still other issues from the cauda equina syndrome which are likely to never get back to normal and affect everyday life. These are the toughest as there is no treatment available for these issues, it is just up to the Lord whether the nerve damage heals or not.

Our hopes and faith are in God's hands. Praise be to God for His blessings!

Apr 26th, NovaCare Rehabilitation, Westerville, OH:

From me - Well today is a sad day of sorts. It is my physical therapist's last day here in Ohio. She is a Doctor of Physical Therapy student who has been doing her final internship at NovaCare in Westerville. After today, she will be finished and headed back to Buffalo, NY to graduate. Congratulations, Carrie!

NovaCare had a goodbye party for her yesterday with a Shrek theme. Carrie was dressed up as Donkey. As for me, the following picture will confirm what some of you have thought about me for a long time....

Carrie

 

 

Apr 20th, 2013, Home:

From me - Bummer... but good, I hope. The front of my right thigh feels like it is itching. Of course when I scratch it, I don't feel a thing. But I'm hopeful that this is an indicator of feeling coming back to that area. However, nothing escapes the fact that it is a total bummer having a body part itch and not be able to get relief from scratching it 🙂

And with that, we come to the end of the back story.  Continue with Month 4>>>

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×
s2Member®
%d bloggers like this: