馬尾神經綜合徵信息

3 耀斑 嘰嘰喳喳 0 Facebook的 3 谷歌 0 書籤交易 0 別起來分享 0 Filament.io 3 耀斑 ×

馬尾神經綜合徵是一種破壞性的醫療條件,醫務人員並不總是熟悉.  它通常需要緊急手術,以避免其控制下的感覺腰部的神經永久性損傷.  神經再生速度很慢,因此癒合過程需要數年時間.  即使及時急診手術, 你將最有可能永遠不會完全恢復.  馬尾神經綜合徵的大多數受害人發現自己的生命永遠地改變.

它剝奪了你的平衡的你 & 腿腳, 你的膀胱控制 & 腸子, 為您提供輕度至重度疼痛的神經, 並摧毀你的性功能.  許多活出他們的天止痛藥, 尿布 & 導管, 輪椅或助行器.  有些是永久, 完全禁用.  大部分是永久, 部分禁用.

這些 3

 

(點擊圖片查看大圖)

如果您有腰痛和這些症狀, 需求 為馬尾症候群進行評估.

 

下面是從神經外科醫生的美國協會病人信息.  您可以鏈接到這裡整篇文章 - 馬尾神經綜合徵信息

 

 

馬尾綜合徵

十一月, 2005

每年腰痛影響百萬人, 在大多數情況下, 它無需手術改善. 但嚴重的背部疼痛可以是一種嚴重的疾病症狀,是不是眾所周知的,經常被誤診. 馬尾神經綜合徵 (國際消費電子展) 當馬尾神經根被壓縮,破壞運動和感覺功能,下肢和膀胱發生. 患有這種綜合徵往往住進了醫院作為一個醫療急救. CES會導致大小便失禁,甚至是永久性癱瘓.

神經在脊髓末端的集合被稱為馬尾, 由於它形似一個馬尾巴. 在腰椎上部的脊髓末端 (腰部) 脊柱. 單個神經根在脊髓,提供運動和感覺功能,腿和膀胱的末端繼續沿椎管. 馬尾是這些神經根的腰部區域的延續. 這些神經發送和接收消息,並從下肢和盆腔器官.

原因

從國際消費電子展在腰部一個巨大的椎間盤突出最常用的結果. 一個單一的過度勞損或損傷可能會導致椎間盤突出. 然而, 盤材料退化,自然你的年齡, 而且它舉行的地方韌帶開始減弱. 由於這種變性的進展, 一個相對較小的應變或扭轉運動可以引起椎間盤破裂.

症狀和診斷

患者腰痛應注意以下事項 "紅旗" 症狀可能表明國際消費電子展:

  • 劇烈腰痛
  • 運動無力, 感覺喪失, 或疼痛1, 或更常見的兩腳
  • 鞍麻 (無法在坐在鞍身體方面有什麼感覺)
  • 最近發生的膀胱功能障礙 (如尿瀦留或尿失禁)
  • 最近發生排便失禁
  • 在膀胱或直腸感覺異常
  • 最近發生的性功能障礙
  • 反射的四肢有損失

治療

一旦CES上的診斷為, 和病因成立, 緊急手術通常是首選的治療. 我們的目標是扭轉的神經功能障礙的症狀. 如果不進行治療, CES可能會導致永久性癱瘓和大小便失禁.

那些遇到任何的紅旗症狀,應盡快諮詢神經外科醫生. 及時手術是治療CES最佳治療. 在治療患者 48 小時後綜合徵的發作提供改善感覺和運動障礙,以及一個顯著優點尿和直腸功能. 但即使病人誰是48小時的理想時間表後接受手術,可能會遇到相當大的改善.

與應對國際消費電子展

CES可以影響人的身心, 特別是如果它是慢性. 人與CES上可能不再能正常工作, 無論是因為劇烈的疼痛, 社會不可接受的失禁問題, 運動無力及感覺喪失, 或這些問題的組合.

膀胱及腸道失去控制可以是非常令人痛心的,對社會生活產生了極大的負面影響, 工作和關係. 患者的CES上有可能發展頻繁的尿路感染. 性功能障礙可能是毀滅性的病人和他/她的夥伴,並可能導致關係困難和抑鬱症.

嚴重的神經型 (神經性) 疼痛可能需要處方止痛藥有副作用,可能會導致更多的問題. 如果疼痛是慢性, 它可能成為 "集中" 並輻射到身體的其它區域. 神經性疼痛往往是夜間尤甚,並與睡眠可能會干擾. 這種類型的疼痛往往會產生灼熱感,可以成為不斷難忍. 感覺喪失的範圍可以從如坐針氈完成麻木, 及可能影響膀胱, 腸道和生殖器區域. 弱點通常是在腿上,並可能有助於行走困難.

重要的是,人們的CES接收來自朋友和家人的網絡情感支持, 如果可能的話. 重要的是要與你的醫生對藥物和疼痛的管理層緊密合作是非常重要的. 有規定的,以解決疼痛幾種藥物, 膀胱和腸道問題. 此外, 有些患者發現,物理治療和心理輔導幫助他們應對國際消費電子展.

3 耀斑 嘰嘰喳喳 0 Facebook的 3 谷歌 0 書籤交易 0 別起來分享 0 Filament.io 3 耀斑 ×
s2Member®

Cauda Equina Syndrome Info

3 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 3 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 3 Flares ×

Cauda Equina Syndrome is a devastating medical condition which medical personnel are not always familiar with.  It usually requires emergency surgery in order to avoid permanent damage to the nerves which control feeling below your waist.  Nerves regrow very slowly so the healing process takes years.  Even with timely emergency surgery, you will most likely never recover completely.  Most victims of Cauda Equina Syndrome find their lives altered forever.

It robs you of your balance & ability to walk, control of your bladder & bowels, provides you with mild to severe nerve pain, and destroys your sexual functionality.  Many live out their days with pain medicine, diapers & catheters, wheelchairs or walkers.  Some are permanently, totally disabled.  Most are permanently, partially disabled.

ces 3

 

(Click on image for a larger version)

If you have lower back pain and these symptoms, DEMAND to be evaluated for Cauda Equina Syndrome.

 

Below is patient information from the American Association of Neurological Surgeons.  You can link to the whole article here -  Cauda Equina Syndrome Information

 

 

Cauda Equina Syndrome

November, 2005

Low back pain affects millions of people every year, and in most cases, it improves without surgery. But severe back pain can be a symptom of a serious condition that is not well known and is often misdiagnosed. Cauda equina syndrome (CES) occurs when the nerve roots of the cauda equina are compressed and disrupt motor and sensory function to the lower extremities and bladder. Patients with this syndrome are often admitted to the hospital as a medical emergency. CES can lead to incontinence and even permanent paralysis.

The collection of nerves at the end of the spinal cord is known as the cauda equina, due to its resemblance to a horse's tail. The spinal cord ends at the upper portion of the lumbar (lower back) spine. The individual nerve roots at the end of the spinal cord that provide motor and sensory function to the legs and the bladder continue along in the spinal canal. The cauda equina is the continuation of these nerve roots in the lumbar region. These nerves send and receive messages to and from the lower limbs and pelvic organs.

Causes

CES most commonly results from a massive herniated disc in the lumbar region. A single excessive strain or injury may cause a herniated disc. However, disc material degenerates naturally as you age, and the ligaments that hold it in place begin to weaken. As this degeneration progresses, a relatively minor strain or twisting movement can cause a disc to rupture.

Symptoms and Diagnosis

Patients with back pain should be aware of the following "red flag" symptoms that may indicate CES:

  • Severe low back pain
  • Motor weakness, sensory loss, or pain in one, or more commonly both legs
  • Saddle anesthesia (unable to feel anything in the body areas that sit on a saddle)
  • Recent onset of bladder dysfunction (such as urinary retention or incontinence)
  • Recent onset of bowel incontinence
  • Sensory abnormalities in the bladder or rectum
  • Recent onset of sexual dysfunction
  • A loss of reflexes in the extremities

Treatment

Once the diagnosis of CES is made, and the etiology established, urgent surgery is usually the treatment of choice. The goal is to reverse the symptoms of neural dysfunction. Left untreated, CES can result in permanent paralysis and incontinence.

Those experiencing any of the red flag symptoms should consult a neurosurgeon as soon as possible. Prompt surgery is the best treatment for patients with CES. Treating patients within 48 hours after the onset of the syndrome provides a significant advantage in improving sensory and motor deficits as well as urinary and rectal function. But even patients who undergo surgery after the 48-hour ideal timeframe may experience considerable improvement.

Coping with CES

CES can affect people both physically and emotionally, in particular if it is chronic. People with CES may no longer be able to work, either because of severe pain, socially unacceptable incontinence problems, motor weakness and sensory loss, or a combination of these problems.

Loss of bladder and bowel control can be extremely distressing and have a highly negative impact on social life, work and relationships. Patients with CES may develop frequent urinary infections. Sexual dysfunction can be devastating to the patient and his/her partner and may lead to relationship difficulties and depression.

Severe nerve-type (neurogenic) pain may require prescription pain medication with side effects that may cause further problems. If the pain is chronic, it may become "centralized" and radiate to other areas of the body. Neurogenic pain tends to be worse at night and may interfere with sleep. This type of pain tends to produce a burning feeling that can become constant and unbearable. Sensory loss may range from pins and needles to complete numbness, and may affect the bladder, bowel and genital areas. Weakness is usually in the legs and may contribute to problems walking.

It is essential that people with CES receive emotional support from a network of friends and family members, if possible. It is important to work closely with your physician on medication and pain management. There are several medications prescribed to address pain, bladder and bowel problems. In addition, some patients find that physical therapy and psychological counseling help them cope with CES.

3 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 3 Google+ 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 3 Flares ×
s2Member®